Resolution Opposing Senate Ratification of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

WHEREAS, ratification of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, commonly referred to as the Law of the Sea Treaty (LOST), would erode the sovereignty of the United States of America and subject the United States to United Nations-controlled international arbitration over its military, environmental and economic policies as they pertain to the use of the world's oceans;

WHEREAS, ratification of LOST would provide new avenues for non-US environmental organizations to affect domestic US environmental policies by pursuing legal action in US and international courts;

WHEREAS, ratification of LOST would subject the US Navy to additional internationally enforced operational constraints;

WHEREAS, LOST declares seabed resources to be the "common heritage of mankind," and has established a byzantine international bureaucracy called the International Seabed Authority (ISA) to regulate ocean resources;

WHEREAS, ratification of LOST would subject US companies to unprecedented license fees and taxes levied on economic activities in the deep seabed by the ISA, imposing, in effect, 'taxation without representation';

WHEREAS, ratification of LOST would enable the ISA to force US companies to transfer proprietary technology used to mine the seabed to the other states; and

WHEREAS, LOST gives the ISA the mandate to redistribute the revenues extracted from developed states on the basis of "equitable sharing criteria, taking into account the interests and needs of developing States."

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE REPUBLICAN PARTY OF TEXAS, as clearly stated in the 2006 State Republican Party Platform, that the Republican Party of Texas opposes ratification of LOST by the US Senate; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Republican Party of Texas urges our Republican Senators John Cornyn and Kay Bailey Hutchison to vigorously oppose ratification of LOST; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be sent to President Bush, our Texas Senators, and the Senate Minority leader.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 1<sup>st</sup> day of December, 2007.

Submitted by Brian F. Russell, SD14